Adriano De Souza Triumphs In Front Of Brazilian Fans At The Oi Rio Pro

Adriano de Souza delighted his Brazilian fans as he took his first win since 2015 in Saquarema at the Oi Rio Pro. Defeating Ace Buchan in the Final, De Souza had a perfect competition by winning every heat that he surfed in. 

De Souza is victorious

De Souza is victorious

Press Release: Earlier in the day he defeated Joel Parkinson in the quarter-finals followed by a win in the semis against Yago Dora. De Souza looked unstoppable heading into the final with a string of powerful bottom turns and acrobatic surfing throughout the day.

His fellow competitor in the final was to be Ace Buchan who, himself, had had an extremely successful day in the water defeating Jordy Smith and Matt Wilkinson to get to the final.

The scores went back and forth throughout the heat by the final was De Souza’s for the taking when he went to town on his valiant last wave, scoring a 9.80, and cinching the title.

Oi Rio Pro Final Results 1 – Adriano de Souza (BRA) 17.63

2 – Adrian Buchan (AUS) 17.23

Oi Rio Pro Men’s Semifinal Results:

SF 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 17.97 def. Yago Dora (BRA) 11.97

SF 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 16.97 def. Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 11.60

Oi Rio Pro Men’s Quarterfinal Results: QF 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 18.50 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 11.00

QF 2: Yago Dora (BRA) 12.44 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 12.34

QF 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 16.37 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 13.47

QF 4: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 17.23 def. Owen Wright (AUS) 14.70

2017 WSL Men’s Jeep Leaderboard (After Oi Rio Pro):

1 – John John Florence (HAW) 24,750 points

2 – Jordy Smith (ZAF) 24,400 points

2 – Adriano de Souza (BRA) 24,400 points

2 – Owen Wright (AUS) 24,400 points

5 – Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 16,750 points


Source Issue 91 cover


Send this to a friend