Vans Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational And Surf Festival, Zarautz (Spain), May 18-20

The Vans Joel Tudor Duct Tape Festival makes its European debut this year with a mission to bring together a global collective of people inspired by surfing, and to celebrate progression and creativity in surf culture. In 2018, Joel Tudor’s legendary longboard contest comes to Zarautz in the Spanish Basque Country on May 18-20.

Press Release: Celebrating the evolution of a surf legacy, the Vans Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational longboarding series will bring the Duct Tape Festival to the vibrant city of Zarautz, Spanish Basque Country on May 18-20, to showcase the unique innovation, creativity and craftsmanship of surf culture.

Hosted in the north shores of Zarautz in the heart of the Spanish Basque Country beginning May 18, the Vans Duct Tape Festival gathers a distinct community of surfers, artists and shapers to engage with the surf community in a collaborative environment. For the Spanish Basque Country debut, the Duct Tape Festival will take over in full effect, bringing 16 world class longboarders together to compete in the 14th Vans Duct Tape Invitational competition. Fresh faces on the Duct Tape longboarding circuit include rising stars Nico “Niki Dora” Garcia, Levi Prairie, and Kai Takayama, alongside the visionaries of progressive logging Alex Knost, Tyler Warren, Ryan Burch, James Parry and Justin Quintal.

The Vans Duct Tape Festival will also welcome four internationally world-renowned surfers—Dane Reynolds, Alex Knost, Tanner Gudauskas and Lee Ann Curren—to present a library of their own hand-shaped custom surf boards to share with the public and live permanently at local surf shop, Pukas Surf. Led by these four influential surf icons, the 3-day beach festival will feature surf and skateboarding sessions, board shaping discussions, interactive art and music exhibits hosted by the local community, and much more!

In support of a diverse and inclusive surf environment, fans and spectators are encouraged to join Vans, the Duct Tape competitors, and our featured guest shapers to engage and participate in all the festivities.

Vans Duct Tape Festival Schedule

  • May 18, 2pm – Duct Tape Festival Kick-Off at Zarautz Beach
  • May 19, 1pm – Duct Tape Invitational Contest Begins + 3pm Duct Tape Skate Jam at Zarautz Skatepark
  • May 20, 1pm – Duct Tape Invitational Finals + 6pm Awards Ceremony

Vans Duct Tape Invitational Invitees

  • Zach Flores
  • Ryan Burch
  • Andy Nieblas
  • Harrison Roach
  • Saxon Wilson
  • Tyler Warren
  • Justin Quintal
  • Alex Knost
  • Levi Prairie
  • Jordan Spree
  • Kai Takayama
  • Robin Falxa
  • James Parry
  • Adrian Lopez
  • Nathan Sadoun
  • Nico Garcia
Previous image Next image




Send this to a friend